Home of Manitoba Blizzard Lacrosse


AUGUST 20, 2017

The Manitoba Blizzard and Seneca War Chiefs squared off for the bronze medal on Sunday afternoon at the Founders Cup in Saskatoon. The teams waged a close contest for two periods before the New York state side broke the game open in the final frame to claim bronze with a 15-8 win over Manitoba.
Seneca scored first as Jonah Mohawk struck first at the 4:20 mark. Manitoba struck for two shorthanded markers as Kelson Borisenko and Jared Courchene scored 48 seconds apart to give Manitoba the lead. Weylon Adams tied the score eight minutes later on the powerplay but Blaze Bezecki quickly put the Blizzard in front again with a powerplay goal of his own with 3:01 left in the period before Joe Laforme tied the game again with 1:37 to go. It was 3-3 after a period.
Manitoba took back the lead on a Kelson Borisenko powerplay goal nearly eight minutes into the second period, but the game turned the way of the War Chiefs as they rattled off four in a row as Kyle Barna recorded a hat trick and Darcy Redeye scored one of his one to give Seneca a 7-4 lead. Courchene scored his second on a powerplay to make it 7-5 War Chiefs after two periods.
Seneca would seal the deal in the third with goals from Connor Gates, Tonatiuh Salinas and Barna with his fourth made it 10-5 with 10 minutes left. A pair of Blizzard goals from Troy Gutowski and Andy Szun pulled the Blizzard to within three at 10-7, but three more War Chief goals from Evan Printup, Clay Scanlan and Mohawk would extinguish any Blizzard hopes. Loel Asham got one back for the Blizzard with 1:42 left but goals from Heron Snow and Clay Zeller in the last two minutes would wrap up the scoring.


Period 1
Seneca War Chiefs – Jonah Mohawk (Joe Laforme) 4:20
Manitoba Blizzard – Kelson Borisenko (short handed) (Andy Szun) 5:45
Manitoba Blizzard – Jared Courchene (short handed) (unassisted) 6:33
Seneca War Chiefs – Weylon Abrams (power play) (Jonah Mohawk, Clay Scanlan) 14:09
Manitoba Blizzard – Blaze Bezecki (power play) (Colin Poitras) 16:59
Seneca War Chiefs – Joe Laforme (Mason Jones) 18:23

Period 2
Manitoba Blizzard – Kelson Borisenko (power play) (Andy Szun) 7:58
Seneca War Chiefs – Kyle Barna (Connor Gates, Clay Scanlan) 10:28
Seneca War Chiefs – Darcy Redeye (Jonah Mohawk) 13:10
Seneca War Chiefs – Kyle Barna (Jonah Mohawk) 13:44
Seneca War Chiefs – Kyle Barna (Jonah MohawkDarcy Redeye) 15:38
Manitoba Blizzard – Jared Courchene (power play) (Colin Poitras) 16:27

Period 3
Seneca War Chiefs – Connor Gates (Kyle Barna, Clay Scanlan) 1:45
Seneca War Chiefs – Tonatiuh Salinas (unassisted) 5:16
Seneca War Chiefs – Kyle Barna (Jonah Mohawk, Kahiio Cree) 8:43
Manitoba Blizzard – Troy Gutowski (power play) (Andy Szun, Blaze Bezecki) 11:24
Manitoba Blizzard – Andy Szun (Loel Asham, Blaze Bezecki) 11:53
Seneca War Chiefs – Evan Printup (Clay Scanlan) 12:25
Seneca War Chiefs – Clay Scanlan (Kyle Barna) 13:42
Seneca War Chiefs – Jonah Mohawk (Drew Ray) 16:39
Manitoba Blizzard – Loel Asham (power play) (Blaze Bezecki) 18:18
Seneca War Chiefs – Heron Snow (Clay Scanlan) 18:51
Seneca War Chiefs – Cole Zeller (unassisted) 19:15

Leave a Reply